On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 101.9 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
64° Feels Like: 64°
Wind: NW 10 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Sunny 80°


Clear 53°


Sunny 71°


Governor Daugaard to address ROTC cadets


Brookings, S.D. (KELO AM) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard will be on the South Dakota State University campus April 9 to honor all veterans and recognize the achievements of the Army and Air Force ROTC cadets.Governor's Day will be observed at 3:30 p.m. on Sylvan Green just east of the South Dakota Art Museum.Daugaard will be making his second appearance as governor at the annual awards ceremony.

Daugaard spoke as lieutenant governor in 2005 and 2006.Governor's Day dates to 1918, when Peter Norbeck was governor and Gen. Omar Bradley was professor of military science.

Following Daugaard's talk, some 80 ROTC cadets will pass before the governor, SDSU President David L. Chicoine and unit commanders.

This year's awards recipients: 

Air Force ROTC• Cadet Christopher C. Jankowski, Vail, Ariz., Governor's Cup, the top award for the hosting unit; • Cadet Travis C. Charfauros, Rapid City, Daughters of the American Revolution Award;• Cadet Cole J. Jorgensen, Hartford, American Legion Military Excellence Award;• Cadet Brian M. Hershey, West Chester, Pa., Veterans of Foreign Wars Award and Vietnam Veterans of America Scholarship;• Cadet Aaron J. Ingari, North Sandwich, N.H., Air Force Meritorious Service Award;• Cadet Roscoe G. Rice, Lennox, Military Officers Association of America Award;• Cadet Blake T. Woockman, Crofton, Neb., Disabled American Veteran's Award; and• Cadet Ryan J. Hahn, Pierre, Sons of the Union Veterans of the Civil War. Army ROTC• Cadet Kyle B. Cooper, Brookings, President's Cup/Advanced Course Cadet of the Year, the top award for the non-hosting unit;• Cadet Spencer W. Biermann, Hamburg, Minn., Daughters of the American Revolution Award;• Cadet Elizabeth M. Rozell, Mansfield, American Legion Military Excellence Award;• Cadet Alexander C. Vos, Middleton, Wis., Veterans of Foreign Wars Award;• Cadet Eric A. Flynn, North Sioux City; Cadet Elizabeth A. Kolar, Eureka; Cadet Eric B. Chapin, Aberdeen; Cadet Alexander D. DeWald, Auburn, Wash., Superior Cadet Award;• Cadet Kolar, Military Officers Association of America Award; • Cadet Derek J. Lankford, Rapid City, Disabled American Veterans Award;• Cadet Justin R. Danielson, Brandon, Sons of the Union Veterans of the Civil War Award; and• Cadet Peter Delgado, Lower Brule, Vietnam Veterans of America Scholarship. In case of bad weather, the ceremony will be held in Frost Arena.For more information, contact the Air Force ROTC, 605-688-6106, which is hosting this year's event.